I’m baaaaack!

For the past two summers, I’ve been spending my vacation at my boyfriend’s family home in Wellfleet, Cape Cod. There are lots of beautiful Bauhaus homes, art galleries, and a crunchy-50s-psychoanalyst-vacation-home vibe that’s unlike any other town on the Cape.

Here are a few of my favorite things to do…

The Beaches: We like to park the car at White Crest beach, where all of the surfers go, and (eventually) walk over to Cahoon Hollow beach to have lunch at the Beachcomber. It’s the only restaurant located on the beach and they have a great raw seafood bar and some heavy handed cocktails—the Goombay Smash is their signature drink.

The beaches are all about a 40 foot dune drop from the road, so be prepared to get a good leg workout walking up and down.

The Ponds: Because Wellfleet is towards the tip of the Cape, a lot of the land up there is national seashore and forrest. There are a few big fresh water ponds surrounded by trees that are perfect for a dip after a day at the beach. The water is a lot warmer than the freezing cold ocean, and you can kayak, paddle board or bring pool floats and just laze around. My favorite is Gull Pond—it’s the biggest and has a little beach where you can ditch your stuff while you swim.

The Pier: It wouldn’t be a trip to the Cape without (fried) seafood and Mac’s Pier is hands down the best. They have every variation of lobster, clam and scallop that you could want—fried, on a sandwich, even in a quesadilla. You can hang at the harbor and eat your lobster roll while you watch all of the boats bring in fresh oysters. Then, you can top off your meal with some ice cream, also from the Pier. I treat myself daily with an Orange Whip—soft serve vanilla ice cream and orange juice blended like a milkshake.

Hatch’s Market: If you tire of the fried seafood, you can get it fresh at Hatch’s market, along with some of the best produce you’ll ever find. They were selling organic fruits and veggies before organic produce was even a thing. And as much as I love the Pier, we usually cook most of our meals at home while we’re up there.

Wellfleet Drive In: This place is super old school and I love going, even if we get stuck watching all kids movies. We like to back in for a double feature and bring blankets and pillows to lay on in the back of the car. You have to get there early to get a good spot, but it’s fun to kill time with a game of Scrabble and a huge bucket of popcorn from the concession stand.
On Sunday mornings, they use the parking lot for a huge flea market with tons of great junk.

P-Town: On rainy days, the best thing to do is drive to the Provincetown at the very tip of the Cape. There’s good shopping at Marc Jacobs, hysterical sex toys at Spank the Monkey, and even a theatre production of Snow White and the Seven Bottoms ;)

Je suis de retouuuuuuur !

Depuis deux ans, l’été, je passe mes vacances dans la maison de famille de mon copain à Wellfeet, sur la presqu’île de Cape Cod. Il y a plein de belles maisons Bauhaus, de galeries d’art et un petit esprit villégiature-de- psychanalyste-des-années-50 assez savoureux qu’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs.

Voilà quelques trucs que j’adore faire quand je suis là-bas…

Les plages : On gare la voiture à White Crest beach, le spot de surfeurs, et on marche jusqu’à la plage de Cahoon Hollow pour déjeuner au Beachcomber. C’est le seul restaurant de la plage, ils ont un super bar à fruits de mer et des cocktails qui tabassent. Essayez le Goombay Smash, c’est leur spécialité.

Pour accéder aux plages, il faut descendre (et donc remonter) de grosses dunes, donc préparez-vous à faire marcher vos mollets.

Les étangs : Comme Wellfleet est située vers la pointe de Cape Cod, on trouve beaucoup de plages et de forêts protégées. Il y a quelques étangs d’eau douce entourés d’arbres qui sont parfaits pour une petite baignade après une journée à la plage. L’eau est beaucoup plus chaude que l’océan glacé, et on peut faire du kayak, du paddle ou juste apporter son matelas gonflable et buller. Mon spot préféré, c’est Gull Pond : l’étang le plus important, entouré d’une petite plage où on peut se poser.

The Pier : Cape Cod ne serait pas Cape Cod sans une petite friture de la mer, et Mac’s Seafood, c’est le resto incontournable. On y trouve toutes les variations possibles de homard, clams et noix de Saint-Jacques : en friture, en sandwich et même en quesadilla. On peut manger son petit sandwich au homard sur le port en regardant les bateaux décharger leur cargaison d’huîtres et terminer par une glace. Moi, je suis accro à l’Orange Whip : un milkshake à base de glace à la vanille fondante et de jus d’orange.

Hatch’s Market : Si vous en avez marre des fruits de mer, allez-y, c’est un marché où on trouve vraiment le top des produits frais. On y vendait des fruits et légumes bio avant que le bio devienne tendance, c’est dire. Et même si j’adore The Pier, on préfère en général se faire la cuisine à la maison.

Le cinéma drive-in de Wellfleet : Un endroit ultra-vintage que j’adore, même si on se retrouve en général à mater des vieux films pour les enfants. On aime bien y aller pour deux séances d’affilée, on apporte des couvertures et des oreillers et on s’installe confortablement dans la voiture. Il faut arriver en avance pour avoir une bonne place, mais c’est sympa de patienter en faisant une petite partie de Scrabble et en mangeant un énorme seau de pop-corn.
Le dimanche matin, le parking accueille un énorme marché aux puces où on trouve des tonnes de super trucs.

P-Town : Quand il pleut, le meilleur truc à faire, c’est d’aller à Provincetown, à l’extrémité de Cape Cod. On peut aller faire du lèche-vitrines chez Marc Jacobs, trouver des sex-toys déments chez Spank the Monkey et même voir le spectacle Snow White and the Seven Bottoms (une version hot et complètement déjantée de Blanche-Neige) ;)