I have NOTHING to wear!?!

Okay, not really but it’s exactly how I’m feeling right now, and it’s not even fashion week.

I took this as a sign that it was time to really give my closet a good detox.

This translated into making my boyfriend suffer as I pulled out every single piece of clothing I owned that was either on a hanger, folded (a towering stack of jeans) or came in pairs (shoes), holding them up, trying them on and deciding between YES and NO (Similar to that scene in Sex and the City when Carrie cleans out her closet, except there was less champagne. Fine. There wasn’t any champagne).

The result? I sold or donated everything that didn’t fit, was too trendy, too worn out and invested in a new pair of black trousers that I’ve already worn more times than all of the things I got rid of combined.

I’m making it my new mantra to buy quality, simple, classic pieces going forward. I know my morning routine will thank me when I can’t decide what to wear and I remember the perfect black trousers/black dress/white tee/mens button down waving hello from the closet.

Je n’ai RIEN à me mettre !?!

Oui, bon, c’est pas tout à fait vrai, mais c’est exactement l’impression que j’ai alors que c’est même pas encore la Fashion Week.

Du coup, je me suis dit qu’il était vraiment temps que je fasse le vide dans ma penderie.

Ce qui veut dire que j’ai fait subir un vrai calvaire à mon amoureux en sortant l’intégralité de mes fringues pendues, pliées, empilées (ma pile de jeans), et mes chaussures. J’ai tout essayé et divisé en OUI ou NON. (Un peu comme dans Sex and the City, quand Carrie fait le ménage dans son placard, sauf que là, c’était beaucoup moins drôle, c’était la version sans champagne).

Résultat ? J’ai vendu ou donné tout ce qui ne m’allait pas, était trop « mode », trop usé… et j’ai investi dans un nouveau pantalon noir que j’ai déjà porté plus souvent que tous les trucs dont je me suis débarrassée. A partir de maintenant, je me suis jurée de n’acheter que des basiques simples et évidents.

Je sais déjà que je serai trop contente le matin, quand au lieu de me prendre la tête pendant des heures, je pourrai tout de suite me jeter sur mon pantalon noir/ma petite robe noire/un t-shirt blanc/une chemise d’homme dans mon placard.