There’s (once again) an uncontrollable explosion on my head. I’ve (once again) lost all hair confidence. I (once again) feel like cutting it all off.

But there was a moment when, giving in to my desire to never stop exploring, I felt like letting it grow out. I was a little tired of my cut, I had this crazy wish to be like Steffy-Argelich-the-model-who-is-in-all-the-2016-campaigns-no-seriously-so-original-bravo, and plus, I’ve always really liked the in-between phases when your hair is growing out and you have a new look every morning.

Except some mornings are better than others… And for about a week now – even with my beloved hairdresser Clyde (from The Drawing Room NY) who “thinned out the mass” – it has still really, really been a mess up there.

I’ve been living in my hat, and I even tried getting a scarf out again yesterday, and let me tell you right away – it’s not helping, not at all. Plus, since my hair has grown out, I’m trying out new products (I’m looking for something to weigh my hair down and soften it at the same time, do you have any ideas?) and so far I haven’t found the grail, which means everything I’ve tried has only made it weirder than it already was…

Clyde tells me that four weeks from now, I’ll have the cut of my dreams, because my hair will finally be the right length…. In the meantime, do you have any ideas for me? A wig? Barrettes? Gel?

Translated by Andrea Perdue

C’est (à nouveau) une explosion incontrôlable sur ma tête. J’ai (à nouveau) perdu toute confiance capillaire. J’ai (à nouveau) des envies de tout couper.

Et pourtant, il y a un moment où n’écoutant que mon envie de ne jamais cesser d’explorer, j’ai eu envie de les laisser pousser. J’en avais un peu marre de ma coupe, j’avais une envie folle de me la jouer Stephi-Argelich-la-mannequin-qui-est-de-toutes-les-campagnes-2016-non-mais-quelle-originalité-bravo et en plus, j’ai toujours bien aimé les phases de repousse, ces moments entre-deux où l’on se découvre de nouvelles têtes chaque matin.

Sauf qu’il y a des matins meilleurs que les autres. Et que là, en ce moment depuis une semaine, même avec l’aide de Clyde mon coiffeur bien aimé qui a “désépaissi la masse” c’est n’importe, mais alors n’importe quoi là-haut.

Je vis en bonnet, et j’ai même essayé hier de ressortir un foulard, et je vous le dis tout de suite, ça ne le fait pas, mais alors pas du tout. En plus, comme mes cheveux ont poussé, je suis en train de tester de nouveaux produits (je cherche quelque chose d’alourdissant et d’assouplissant à la fois, vous avez des pistes ?) et pour le moment, je n’ai pas trouvé le graal, donc ça veut dire que tout ce que j’ai testé a rendu le tout plus bizarre que ça ne l’était déjà.

Clyde me dit que d’ici quatre semaines, j’aurais une coupe de rêve, parce que mes cheveux auront enfin atteint la bonne longueur.

En attendant, vous avez des idées pour moi ? Barrettes ? Gel ? Perruque ?