Just hand Leo his damn Oscar already.
It’s about time.

This film, the latest offering from one of my favorite directors Iñárritu, is an epic, beautiful and emotion-stirring portrayal of a man struggling to survive in the unchartered wilderness of North America in 1823. DiCaprio’s depiction of Hugh Glass, a man on the edge of humanity, struggling to survive in an unjust and violent world is completely mesmerizing. A tour de force. I cried.

Basically, don’t go and see it on a first date unless you really like the guy and I recommend some waterproof mascara. It’s more of a movie to see with someone you’re totally cool with being all puffy-eyed with like your best friend or long-term significant other. I sat on the edge of my seat for at least 85% of the movie, cried a few times, blew my nose, and basically crushed Drew’s hand in suspense during several different scenes.

I love Iñárritu’s directorial work (Birdman, Babel)(he’s a creative genius, no?), but it does feel like DiCaprio’s movie. He does have a great cast supporting him, including the swoon-worthy Tom Hardy (who plays morally repugnant Fitzgerald)(still, can’t help but love him!) and you might recognize another face from Peaky Blinders – Arthur Shelby (actor Paul Anderson)!!!

I loved it, would see it again. Completely recommend seeing it at the cinema… Guessing this will take home at least a few Oscars (it’s been nominated for 12!). At times it’s maybe a little intense to a point where you might think, “Come oooon!!!” But it’s, overall, 156 compelling minutes of screen time.

Have you seen it?

Allez, filez son Oscar à Leo, qu’on en finisse.
Il est temps.

Ce film, le dernier opus en date de l’un de mes réalisateurs préférés, Iñárritu, est le portrait sublime, épique et émouvant d’un homme qui se bat pour survivre dans l’environnement sauvage et hostile de l’Amérique du Nord de 1823. DiCaprio y interprète Hugh Glass, un homme à la lisière de l’humanité,  qui lutte pour sa survie dans un monde injuste et violent… Il est fascinant. C’est un véritable tour de force, j’ai pleuré.

En gros, n’allez pas le voir lors d’une première date, sauf si vous aimez vraiment bien le mec, et surtout, mettez un mascara waterproof. C’est le genre de film à aller voir avec quelqu’un dont on se fout qu’il nous voit avec les yeux bouffis, comme une meilleure amie ou un mec qu’on connaît par cœur. Moi, j’ai passé 85 % du temps les fesses sur le rebord de mon siège, j’ai pleuré, je me suis mouchée, et j’ai écrabouillé la main de Drew à plusieurs reprises quand le suspense était intenable.

J’adore le travail d’Iñárritu (Birdman, Babel)(c’est un génie visionnaire, non ?), mais on a quand même l’impression que c’est le film de DiCaprio. Il est entouré d’un super casting, dont le très désirable Tom Hardy (qui joue, Fitzgerald, homme à la morale plus que douteuse)(mais je l’aime quand même !) et vous reconnaîtrez peut-être aussi un autre visage de Peaky Blinders – Arthur Shelby (joué par Paul Anderson) !!!

J’ai adoré et j’ai envie de le revoir. Je vous recommande plus que jamais de le voir au cinéma … Et j’imagine qu’il récoltera quelques Oscar (il a déjà 12 nominations !). Parfois, c’est un peu trop intense, au point où on se dit, « Nan, mais quand même ! », mais d’une manière générale, c’est quand même 156 minutes de fascination totale.

Vous l’avez vu ? Vous avez envie de le voir ?