I stopped saying goodbye when I leave parties. Yep. It may sound impolite, but I actually think it’s a lot more respectful.

Ever since we moved, Chris and I have been hosting parties. Sometimes planned (Chris used to be a bartender in another life, and with his current profession, he knows the art of how to plan a party in a snap) (I keep saying one day I’ll be the most amazing hostess and I’ll organize fantastic dinners) (patience, patience) sometimes impromptu. Sometimes we even have jazz concerts at home, it’s so cool. The first one was for my birthday, and we loved it, so that made us want to keep planning them.

Hosting a party creates a few moments of stress when you’re preparing because you really want everything to be lovely and you want everyone to have a good time. But there’s nothing like the stress of 7:30 when no one’s arrived yet, everything’s ready, and you say: “shit, no one’s going to come, our social life is a disaster” only to find yourself running around taking your guests’ coats and offering them drinks half an hour later.

But there’s also that moment when you’re getting crazy on the dance floor, or dying laughing with your friends, or mastering a new cocktail — basically saying “yes, our party is cool, everyone’s having fun!” — and a couple (yes, hahaha, couples are always the first to leave) comes up with their coat over their arms, a grim look on their face, and they announce: “we’re really sorry, but we have to say goodbye now” followed by any number of totally valid excuses (I’ve got a flight tomorrow at 6am, my babysitter is freaking out, I have to take my dog out, there’s a new series on Netflix…) and you have to see them to the door right when Hotline Bling comes on full blast (impossible not to dance) and excuse them for excusing themselves, and frankly, it’s probably just as awkward for them as it is for me, especially since now for three seconds I’m telling myself maybe people aren’t having that much fun after all if these two are leaving.

So I wanted to say it loud and clear: I don’t think there’s any point saying goodbye at a party. There you go.

By the hostess powers invested in me, I hereby declare you free from this burden.

No? What do you think?

Okay, next time let’s talk about the people who have too much fun and stay until 6am. Hahaha, I love them. Seriously!

J’ai arrêté de dire au revoir quand je m’éclipse d’une fête. Oui, ça peut paraître malpoli, mais au fond, je trouve ça bien plus respectueux.

Depuis qu’on a déménagé, on fait des fêtes à la maison, Chris et moi. Parfois organisées (Chris a été barman dans une autre vie, et avec son métier il connaît l’art d’organiser une fête sur le bout des doigts) (moi je me dis qu’un jour je serais une maîtresse de maison hors pair et que j’organiserai des dîners merveilleux) (patience, patience) parfois impromptues. Parfois on organise même des concerts de jazz à la maison, trop cool. La première a été mon anniversaire, on adoré, et ça nous a donné envie de continuer.

Donner une fête, c’est quelques moments de stress niveau préparation, parce qu’on veut vraiment que tout soit beau et que tout le monde s’amuse. Mais rien n’égale le stress de 7.30, quand personne n’est encore arrivé et que tout est prêt, et qu’on se dit « merde personne ne va venir notre vie sociale est un désastre » pour se retrouver une demi-heure plus tard à courir pour débarrasser ses invités de leur manteau et à leur offrir un verre.

Mais il y aussi ce moment où, alors qu’on est en folie sur le dance floor, ou morte de rire avec ses copines, ou à masteriser un cocktail – bref, à se dire yes notre fête est cool tout le monde s’amuse! – ce moment où un couple d’amis (bah oui uhuhuh ce sont toujours les couples qui partent en premier) le manteau sur le bras et une tête d’enterrement, nous annonce « on est vraiment désolé mais on doit te dire au revoir » suivis par un nombre d’excuses toutes plus valables les unes que les autres (j’ai un avion à 6 heures du mat, j’ai la baby sitter qui pète un cable, je dois sortir mon chien, il y a une nouvelle série sur Netflix…) il faut les ramener à la porte alors que Hotline Bling bat son plain (impossible de ne pas danser) les excuser de s’excuser de nous excuser, et, franchement, ça les soule probablement autant que moi ces salamalecs, surtout que du coup j’ai trois secondes où je me dis que les gens ne s’amusent pas tant que ça à ma fête, si ces deux là s’en vont.

Bon ben je voulais le dire haut et fort : je crois que ça ne sert à rien de dire au revoir à une fête. Voilà.

Par les pouvoirs d’hôtesse qui me sont conférés, je vous libère de cette corvée.

Non ? Vous en pensez quoi ?

Bon la prochaine fois , venez on parle des gens qui s’amusent trop et qui restent jusqu’à six heures du mat. Ahaha, je les adore. Pour de vrai !