Thank you for your comments on yesterday’s post !!! It was so interesting reading them all, you guys rock !!! I loved how you shared your experience about your workplaces. Here are a few that made me laugh or rang a bell to me…

From Ella:

“I am a journalist and I’ve always loved clothes, even if I didn’t always have the budget to afford them. But I understood very fast that it was important for a career. So I carefully invested in my wardrobe: ‘Dress for the job you want.’ It always plays an important role for my promotions and the different editors-in-chief that I’ve have don’t hide it. My professionalism is there but my style is distinctive and for my employers it means: she will manage more, she can be the image of media on TV or conferences.
Even though I come from a modest background, elegance is a refinement that allows me to get into more elite circles.
To be chic is a politeness I have toward others and a way to protect myself. High heels, jacket, scarf, jewerly, it makes an impression and that’s good. Even when I am tired, those rituals keep me motivated. The more I am tired, the more I count on that: it works each time.
Two years ago, I had cancer and I lost my hair and was exhausted. But the wig and the clothes were there to protect me: fashion was super important to making me feel better, I took advantage of it to ask for Hermès scarves! And, to celebrate the end of the chemo, I bought myself super high Prada heels! I’ll never change!
A thousand kisses!!! “

——-

From Matilda:

“Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.” – Mark Twain.

——-

From Gabrielle:

“I almost never had this problem, except when I worked in Australia, there doctors don’t wear a white coat, the men go to work in a suit and the woman have to be dressed either in a deux pieces or chic pants with a nice shirt.
Well I didn’t have any of those at that time. But the fact, that I was dressed like the nurses (something like “jeans, t shirt, converse”) did actually help me, because the patients more than once said to me, that they would rather talk to me than to “the doctor” (my superior in a suit). Of course this might have been different on a other ward, I used to work on a psychiatric ward then.
But this story shows how much clothes make an impact. The fact that I was wearing clothes that were not screaming “doctor” made the patients have more faith in me, even though they knew that I actually am a doctor, but they would rather talk to someone wearing similar clothes to them, one patient even told me once: ” I don’t want to talk to the suit guy!”
So at the beginning my superior once told me to dress differently but after time he realized that my jeans, t shirt and converse did actually help getting in touch with the patients.”

——-

From Valentine:

“At the same time I remember that tweet from Lauren Santo Domingo: “There are two types of girls: those that can make cheap clothes look expensive and those that make designer clothes look cheap… ” And it reassures me. Or not.”

Merci pour vos commentaires sur le post d’hier ! C’était vraiment intéressant de tous les lire. Franchement vous assurez ! J’ai adoré lire vos diverses expériences sur votre lieu de travail… En voici quelques-uns qui m’ont fait rire ou ont touché ma corde sensible…

Ella:

“Je suis journaliste et si j’ai toujours aimé les vêtements, je n’en ai pas toujours eu les moyens. Mais par contre, j’ai très vite compris combien cela importait dans une carrière. J’ai donc patiemment investi dans ma garde robe de grandes marques: “Dress for the job you want”. Cela contribue toujours largement à mes promotions et mes différents rédacteurs en chef ne s’en cachent pas. Mes capacités ne sont pas remises en cause mais mon style me distingue et signifie pour mes employeurs: elle est capable de plus, elle peut incarner notre rédaction à l’antenne ou lors de conférences. Alors que je suis issue d’un milieu modeste, l’élégance traduit un raffinement qui me permet d’accéder à d’autres cercles plus élitistes.
Le chic est une forme de politesse envers les autres et une armure pour moi. Hauts talons, veste, foulard, bijoux, cela en impose et tant mieux. Le rituel de l’habillage, du maquillage, de la coiffure sont autant d’étapes préparatoires pour aller vers les autres et mettre une distance nécessaire. Et lorsque je suis lasse, ce même rituel me motive. Plus je suis fatiguée, plus je me contrains: çà marche à chaque fois.
Il y a deux ans, j’ai eu un cancer et le traitement m’a laissée chauve et épuisée. Heureusement, la perruque, les vêtements étaient là pour me protéger: la mode m’était indispensable pour aller mieux, j’en ai profité pour exiger des carrés Hermès! Et puis, pour fêter la fin de ma chimio, je suis allée m’offrir des escarpins Prada vertigineux. On ne se refait pas!!!!
Mille baisers à toi!”

——-

Matilda:
“L’habit fait le moine. Les gens nus ont pas ou peu d’influence sur la société.” – Mark Twain

——-

Gabrielle:

“Je n’ai presque jamais eu ce problème, sauf quand j’ai travaillé en Australie, où les docteurs n’ont pas de blouse blanche. Les hommes vont au travail en costume et les femmes doivent être habillées soit en avec un ensemble, ou un pantalon et une chemise.
Et bien, je n’avais pas tout ça, à l’époque. Mais le fait que je sois habillée comme les infirmières (quelque chose comme “jeans, Converse”) m’a en fait aidée, parce que plus d’une fois les patients m’ont dit qu’ils trouvaient plus facile de me parler qu’aux “docteurs” (ceux qui étaient en costume).
Bien sûr, ça aurait été différent dans un autre service, moi je travaillais au service psychiatrique.”

Mais cette histoire montre l’impact qu’ont les vêtements. Le fait que je porte des vêtements qui n’hurlaient pas “docteur” donnait aux patients plus de confiance en moi, et même s’ils savaient que j’étais un docteur, ils préféraient parler à quelqu’un portant les mêmes vêtements qu’eux.
Un jour, mon supérieur m’a demandé de m’habiller différemment, mais en fait il a fini par réaliser que mes jeans, tee-shirt et Converse aidaient à rentrer en contact avec nos patients.

——-

Valentine:

“En même temps je me remémore ce twitt de Lauren Santo Domingo:« There are two types of girls: those that can make cheap clothes look expensive and those that make designer clothes look cheap.» et cela me rassure. ou pas.”