I tell you the same thing each time, but one of the treasures of this blog are the comments. We loved your comments on my post about beauty, and you gave us some really cool quotes to keep and think about. Here is a little selection ! Thank you and big kisses my beauties !

Beauty is so subjective! My favorite quote about this comes from Jeffrey Eugenides’ Virgin Suicides, “She held herself very straight, like Audrey Hepburn, whom all women idolize and men never think about.”
- From Courtney

Thank you, Garance – such a great post for a tired morning! I just came across this quote, too:
“One day I decided that I was beautiful, and so I carried out my life as if I was a beautiful girl. I wear colors that I really like, I wear makeup that makes me feel pretty, and it really helps. It doesn’t have anything to do with how the world perceives you. What matters is what you see. Your body is your temple, it’s your home, and you must decorate it.” – Gabourey Sidibe
- From VermontAir

Audrey Hepburn said (paraphrasing) for pretty eyes, see the good in others, for a pretty mouth, say nice things, for a slim figure share your food with those who have none….that transcends the gisele/sjp/whoever complex.
- From Kitchen Afternoon

I want to keep it with my ultimate inspirator Rei Kawakubo:
“For something to be beautiful it doesn’t have to be pretty.”
- From Saschana

There are two quotes about beauty that I live by.
The first one is from Sophia Loren: “Nothing makes a woman more beautiful than the belief that she is beautiful.” That was easy for her to say, with her perfect plum lips but it is still true. If you radiate confidence, people start to think you’re beautiful (the Barbra Streisand Effect).
The other was said by Elsie de Wolfe: “I was not ugly. I might never be anything for men to lose their heads about, but I need never again be ugly. Suddenly it all came together. If you were healthy, fit, and well-dressed, you could be attractive.”
- From Alice

Je vous le dit à chaque fois, mais l’un des immenses bonheur de ce blog, ce sont les commentaires qui sont un vrai trésor. On a adoré vos commentaires sur mon post sur la beauté, et vous nous avez régalées avec des citations géniales… En voici une séléction ! Merci et gros bisous mes beautés !

La beauté, c’est tellement subjectif ! Ma citation préférée vient de Jeffrey Eugenides dans Virgin Suicides, « Elle se tenait très droite, à la manière d’Audrey Hepburn que toutes les femmes idolâtrent et à laquelle les hommes ne pensent jamais »
- From Courtney

Merci, Garance, c’est vraiment un super post à lire un matin de grosse fatigue ! Je suis aussi tombée sur cette citation :
« Un jour, j’ai décidé que j’étais belle et j’ai vécu toute ma vie comme si j’étais une belle fille. Je porte des couleurs que j’adore, du maquillage qui me met en valeur et franchement, ça aide. Tout ça n’a rien à voir avec la façon dont les autres vous perçoivent. Ce qui compte, c’est ce qu’on voit. Un corps, c’est un temple, une maison, et on se doit de la décorer. » Gabourey Sidibe
– From VermontAir

Audrey Hepburn a dit un jour – je cite de mémoire – : « Pour avoir de beaux yeux, il faut regarder les autres avec bienveillance, pour avoir une belle bouche, il faut dire de belles choses et pour rester mince, il faut partager sa nourriture avec ceux qui n’ont rien » … de quoi prendre un peu de recul sur le complexe Gisele B./SJP/etc.
- From Kitchen Afternoon

Rei Kawakubo reste ma référence ultime :
« Pour qu’une chose soit belle, elle n’a pas nécessairement besoin d’être jolie. »
- From Saschana

Il y a deux citations que j’ai érigées en principe.
La première est de Sophia Loren : « Une femme n’est jamais aussi belle que lorsqu’elle est convaincue d’être belle.» Bon, c’était peut-être facile à dire pour elle, avec ses lèvres pulpeuses, mais c’est quand même vrai. Quand on transpire la confiance en soi et qu’on rayonne, les gens vous trouvent belle (le fameux effet Barbra Streisand).
L’autre, je la tiens d’Elsie de Wolfe : « Je n’étais pas laide. Certes, je ne serais peut-être jamais de celles qui font tourner la tête des hommes, mais jamais plus je ne me sentirais laide. C’était comme une évidence : lorsqu’on était en forme et bien habillée, on pouvait être séduisante. »
- From Alice