This is a serious fashion situation…

In my in the field market research (sometimes I need to visit Zara and Prada on a Friday afternoon to , you know, see whats going on) I realized there has been a mass production of short rise jeans. You know what I’m talking about? The distance from the waistband of your pant to the crotch. Yep, I said it, crotch.

The thing is… short rises can be short on attractiveness too. Its one thing to want to shorten the size of your behind*, but the front too? It gets a little confusing. Soon there will just be a little tag to insinuate the fact that a longer normal length zipper used to be there.

Here’s my advice for finding the right rise: make sure it is at least the length of your hand. Ah the hand, a simple tool you always carry with you (if necessary, employ a handy man for assistance) that will ensure you look chic in those pants and not like your dealing with a zipper shortage.

*think the 70s when long butt was in, or just a few years ago when mom jeans made a reappearance

L’heure est grave…

Pendant mes phases de recherche sur le terrain (oui, parfois, je suis obligée d’aller chez Zara et Prada le vendredi après-midi pour… voir ce qui se passe), je me suis rendu compte qu’il y avait une recrudescence de jeans à taille ultra-basse. Vous voyez de quoi il s’agit ? De la distance qui sépare la taille de l’entre-jambe. Oui, parfaitement, l’entre-jambe.

Le problème de la taille ultra-basse, c’est que ça peut être ultra-moche. Avoir envie de rétrécir son postérieur, c’est une chose*, mais l’avant ? C’est un peu bizarre. Bientôt, il n’y aura plus qu’une micro-étiquette pour rappeler l’existence d’une braguette normale, jadis.

Mon conseil pour trouver le bon équilibre : cette fameuse distance taille – entre-jambe doit au moins faire la longueur de votre main. Ah, les mains, un outil tout simple qu’on a toujours sur soi et qui vous garantiront une allure élégante sans vous donner l’air de souffrir d’une pénurie de braguette.

*rappelez-vous ces jeans taille-haute effet cul d’éléphant dans les 70s, ou la réapparition, il y a quelques années, des mom jeans à pinces