In the world of architecture, being awarded the Pritzker Prize is a little like receiving an Oscar or César or Nobel Prize… It’s a really really big deal. Huge. Everyone would be totally cool with joy if you cried with happiness if you won.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was established “to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.” And laureates include Renzo Piano, Luis Barragan, Zaha Hadid, and Tadao Ando (just to name a few!)…

The winner for 2016 was names yesterday: Alejandro Aravena, a Chilean architect who the jury recognized as having “risen to the demands of practicing architecture as an artful endeavor, as well as meeting today’s social and economic challenges.” 

I think that’s pretty incredible — to maintain the art of design but to continue to be thoughtful in how one’s work can contribute to a better society. That’s why I love Aravena’s approach so much, at the forefront of all he does is his belief that the city should be viewed as a place of equity.

Ok, so I’m a fan! 
(Of his designs and his ethos)(And I can’t say that about every single Pritker Prize winner)

But what do you think? Who’s your favorite Pritzker winner? I think mine might still be Barragan…

Alejandro-Aravena-Pres-Constitucion-SeaSide-Promenade-01

Alejandro-Aravena-Innovation-Center-04_0

Alejandro-Aravena-Writers-Cabin-01

Dans le monde de l’architecture, se voir attribuer le Pritzker Prize, c’est un peu comme recevoir un Oscar, un César ou le Nobel… C’est un truc énorme. Vraiment. Genre personne ne vous en voudra, au contraire, de pleurer de joie en recevant ce prix.
 
Le Pritzker Prize du meilleur architecte a été créé pour « saluer un ou plusieurs architecte(s) dont les réalisations témoignent d’un certain talent, d’une vision et d’un engagement, et qui de manière régulière et significative contribuent à enrichir l’humanité et l’environnement à travers l’art de l’architecture. » Parmi les lauréats, on trouve Renzo Piano, Luis Barragan, Zaha Hadid ou Tadao Ando (pour n’en citer que quelques-uns!)…
 
Le gagnant de l’édition 2016 a été annoncé hier : c’est Alejandro Aravena, un architecte chilien qui, selon le jury, a « réussi à élever l’architecture au rang d’art tout en répondant aux défis socio-économiques posés par la société actuelle. » 
 
Je trouve ça génial : ne pas perdre l’art de vue tout en veillant à ce que son travail puisse contribuer à améliorer la société. C’est pour ça que j’aime autant l’approche d’Aravena : dans tout ce qu’il entreprend, il n’oublie jamais que la ville doit être vue comme un lieu d’équité.
 
Bref, je suis fan ! 
(De ses créations et de son éthique !)(Et je ne peux pas en dire autant de tous les lauréats du Pritzker Prize)
 
Vous en pensez quoi, vous ? Qui est votre lauréat préféré ? Moi, je crois que ça reste peut-être quand même Barragan…

Alejandro-Aravena-Pres-Constitucion-SeaSide-Promenade-01

Alejandro-Aravena-Innovation-Center-04_0

Alejandro-Aravena-Writers-Cabin-01