Nothing beats a great face mask.

Skin feeling extra dry? I have a mask for that. Breaking out? Mask. Date with a hottie? Mask.

It’s 15 minutes where I can’t really be out and about (it would scare children). So I sit back, relax, watch Friday Night Lights re-runs (it’s been a while since we’ve talked about Tim Riggins!!!) and let my mask du jour do a little work.

Here are three that I love right now…

For: Pre-Tinder Date
When: Morning or Night
What: Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask
Key Ingredient: French Pink Clay

This mask makes your skin seriously glowy. Like Gisele after Tom scores a touchdown glowy. Instructions say to leave on for 20 minutes, but I’m a beauty rebel and sometimes I’ll sleep in it. Don’t be afraid to apply on a thick layer if you’re going for 20 minutes, a thinner layer for overnight. You’ll feel your skin start to tighten as the mask dries (not in a scary way, but in a Gisele way) and you’ll notice the glow as soon as you wash it off. I promise. There is a new apricot and coconut version of the mask right now, keep it in your refrigerator. You won’t regret it.

For: Breakouts
When: Night or Lazy Afternoon
What: May Lindstrom Skin The Problem Solver
Key Ingredient: Bamboo charcoal

This is my newest favorite. First, make sure you have a solid chunk of time set aside (about 45 minutes) to let this mask do some work. Don’t be alarmed when you open the jar and it’s all black powder– you’ll need to mix it with water. As you mix, the mask turns into a thick mousse (you can hear it sizzling a little bit, which made my kitchen counter feel like a really chic skin science lab). Smooth the mask all over your face (you can use your hands or this brush– the brush will make you feel cooler) and you’ll feel a warm, tingly feeling. That feeling? That is the feeling of happy skin. Wash off after 45 minutes (or when the mask is dry) and slather on your favorite hydrating serum or face oil.

For: Dry Skin
When: Night
What: NARS Aqua Gel Luminous Mask
Key Ingredients: Wild Pansy Extract

I usually reserve this one for winter, but it’s also a life saver when I’ve spent too much time in front of my air conditioner (okay, it happens). Apply generously and let it soak in. It’s best to do it overnight to really hydrate your skin (try to sleep on your back, you know it’s better for you anyway). If you want to do it in the moring or during the day, leave on up to 10 minutes and then wipe away excess with a cotton pad. Your skin will feel plump and ultra-hydrated. Can’t be mad about that.

What is your favorite face mask?

Pour prendre soin de son visage, rien de tel qu’un bon masque. Moi, je suis complètement fan.

Peau ultra-sèche ? J’ai le masque qu’il vous faut. Éruption cutanée ? Masque. Rendez-vous avec un mec ultra-hot ? J’ai aussi.

Ça me prend 15 minutes pendant lesquelles je ne peux pas vraiment sortir de chez moi (les enfants auraient trop peur). Donc je prends un moment, je me détends et je mate des rediffs de Friday Night Lights (ça fait longtemps qu’on n’avait pas parlé de Tim Riggins !!!) et je laisse le masque du jour faire son œuvre.

Voilà mes trois masques préférés du moment…

Pour : Une date Tinder
Quand : Le matin ou le soir
Quoi : Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask
Ingrédient-clé : L’argile rose de France

Ce masque illumine vraiment la peau. Un peu comme quand Gisele voit Tom (son chéri) marquer un touchdown. Les instructions disent de le laisser poser 20 minutes mais j’ai un petit côté rebelle et parfois, je dors même avec. Une couche épaisse si vous laissez poser 20 minutes, plus fine si vous le gardez toute la nuit. Vous sentirez la peau tirer un peu à mesure que le masque sèche (mais à ce stade-là, ça ne fait plus peur, on ressemble déjà à Gisele) et l’éclat est visible dès qu’on rince le masque. Je vous jure. Ils en ont sorti une nouvelle version à l’abricot et à la noix de coco pour l’été. Conservez-le au frigo, vous ne le regretterez pas.

Pour : Les petites irritations/éruptions
Quand : Le soir ou une après-midi de farniente
Quoi : May Lindstrom Skin The Problem Solver
Ingrédient-clé : Le charbon de bois de bambou

Mon nouveau chouchou. D’abord, on vérifie qu’on a un peu de temps devant soi (environ 45 minutes) pour laisser le masque agir. On ne s’affole pas en ouvrant le pot, la poudre est effectivement noire, mais on la mélange avec de l’eau. A mesure qu’on mélange, elle se transforme en mousse (on l’entend légèrement pétiller, j’avais l’impression que ma cuisine se transformait en labo ultra-chic). On le répartit sur le visage (à l’aide de ses mains ou d’une brosse… c’est beaucoup plus classe) et là, on commence à ressentir une sensation de chaleur et des picotements. Ce que ça veut dire ? Que votre peau est heu-reuse. On rince au bout de 45 minutes (ou quand le masque a séché) et on se tartine le visage de son huile ou de son sérum préférés

Pour : Les peaux sèches
Quand : Le soir
Quoi : NARS Aqua Gel Luminous Mask
Ingrédient-clé : L’extrait de pensée sauvage

En général, celui-là, je le garde pour l’hiver, mais en général, il me sauve aussi la vie quand j’ai un peu trop abusé de ma clim (oui, ça m’arrive). On applique généreusement et on laisse pénétrer. Mieux vaut le garder toute la nuit pour que la peau soit vraiment hydratée (on essaie de dormir sur le dos, en plus c’est meilleur). Si vous voulez le faire pendant la journée, laissez agir 10 minutes et ensuite, retirez les résidus à l’aide d’un disque en coton. La peau en sort repulpée et ultra-hydratée. On ne va pas se plaindre.