I’ve made a point to attend the ballet two to three times a year for a few years now. You get swept away into a world that isn’t yours, all while remaining infinitely connected to the emotions and movements being performed on stage.

Also, no cellphones. NONE. For somewhere between two to three hours: you are completely removed from that buzzing, beeping, constant reminder of the outside world.

This was the case last Friday, when I went to the ballet to the see the highly anticipated program – The Most Incredible Thing – from the NYCB, which included a piece from resident choreographer and soloist Justin Peck, in collaboration with artist Marcel Dzama and The National’s Bryce Dessner… A grouping of individuals that would be hard to not be excited for!

And incredible it was. Really! A fairytale conceived from a story by Hans Christian Andersen, the otherworldly aesthetic felt perfectly in place. It was playful – many dancers, wearing anything from orange cubist devil leotards to silvery polka dotted costumes, used slides to make their entrance. Like superheroes / villains coming alive, but seen from the perspective of influential artists like Duchamp and Picasso.



It’s a show worth seeing, as even my attempt to describe even a fraction of the novelty and imagination fails in comparison to taking part in the adventure…

The Most Incredible Thing at the New York City Ballet : April 21 at 7:30pm, April 30 at 8pm, and May 7 at 2pm.

Depuis quelques années, j’essaie d’aller voir des ballets au moins deux à trois fois par an. J’adore ce moment où on bascule dans un univers qui n’est pas le sien, tout en étant touché par les émotions, les mouvements qui se jouent sur scène.



 Et aussi, l’absence de téléphone portable. TOTALE. L’espace de deux ou trois heures, on est loin, très loin de ce monde extérieur ponctué de sonneries et de vibrations.

C’est ce que j’ai pu vivre vendredi dernier,  quand je suis allée découvrir le programme – très attendu – du New York City Ballet, dont un ballet du chorégraphe et soliste résident Justin Peck, intitulé The Most Incredible Thing, en collaboration avec l’artiste Marcel Dzama et le musicien Bryce Dessner (The National)… une association qui donne très envie !

Et c’était incroyable. Vraiment ! Un conte de fées inspiré d’un conte de Hans Christian Andersen, avec une esthétique surréaliste très bien trouvée. C’était ludique, beaucoup de danseurs faisant leur entrée sur scène par un toboggan, vêtus de collants moulants orange d’inspiration cubiste ou de costumes à pois argentés. Comme des super-héros ou des diablotins… sortis de l’imagination d’un Duchamp ou d’un Picasso.

C’est un spectacle à voir absolument, puisque je suis bien incapable de décrire un quart du tiers de l’inventivité et de l’originalité de cette création… Il faut participer à cette aventure.

The Most Incredible Thing au New York City Ballet : le 21 avril à 19 h 30, le 30 avril à 20 h et le 7 mai à 14h.